Awareness

Don’t Let Anyone Tell You Who You Are


Image When I was younger I was bored very easily with school, and because I was so bored I would entertain myself and the entire class because of my boredom. I believe part of it was because of the problems I faced at home, and how having strict persons didn’t allow me to be a child or express myself as offend as I wanted, however, as a result my grades begun to suffer because I was too busy not paying attention in school. They got so bad that my teacher gave up on me, and considered me to have a learning disability, and they placed me in classes some would call “slow learning classes” I now wonder just how offend other kids get labeled a problem child or a child with a learning disability or what they call most kids now is ADHD. Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, known as ADD, or ADHD, is a medical condition that affects how well someone can sit still, focus, and pay attention. This means that they may have trouble focusing on certain tasks and subjects, or they may seem “wired,” act impulsively, and get into trouble” (The Nemours Foundation). I am sure that I would have been labeled as ADHD if it was as popular back then, but it makes me wonder how many children are told they have this disability when in fact a lot of the time the child is just not being stimulated enough or there is other issues going on. Needless to say, I believed I didn’t have a learning disability or even ADHD, and soon after being labeled with this disability the instructors in the special courses felt I didn’t need to be there either, however, because the teacher had given up on me versus getting to the root of the problem; two things could have happened with me; one, I could have ended up like so many children who grow up believing what people tell them, which makes them disabled throughout life, and thinking they don’t have the will to do or be who they choose to be; two, I could consider the action the teacher took as a mountain to climb, and prove to her that she doesn’t know me well enough to determine my abilities, and in fact show her.

I’ve always had the philosophy of

“There are no bad children only bad behaviors” ,and “there isn’t anything you can’t do if you try, and if you fail you’ve already won because so many don’t even try”.

I recently found an old report card of mine with horrible grades, and it just goes to show you; the issues at home can have an effect on a child’s life. So you might ask yourself what is the meaning of this story?

The meaning is don’t let someone disable you in life because you believe what they say when you know it isn’t true. If I believed I had a learning disability I would not be where I am today. There are many individuals who have come to be great, and didn’t have the best experiences in life, yet it didn’t stop them. I choosed not to listen to the disabling and negative actions the teacher took upon me, and for years to come I proved her wrong. Now, in 2012 I have become a member of an International Honor Society for achieving scholastic academics in the top twenty percent at a university so I smile as I receive my membership as an honor student because I know where I’ve come from, and I think… “Who’s got the learning disability? Surely, not me!” What that experience taught me is listen to your heart, believe in your spirit, and think with your mind because ultimately you are the deciding factor of where you want your life to go.

Don’t believe in others to pave a way for you, but you pave the way for yourself by FIRST believing in yourself that way when people try to disable you, you will already know who you are, and know that individual just don’t know you. Everyday I learn something more and more about myself, and every day someone tries to tell me more and more who they THINK I am.  Find yourself, be yourself, because if you don’t someone will come along and surely try to define who they think you should be. Don’t be disabled in your mind by letting people tell you what you can or can not do. Continue to dream, and continue to believe. You are what you believe, and if you believe you’re better then you will be better. Don’t build unnecessary roadblocks by having a disabled way of thinking, and don’t allow others to pollute your dream through their thoughts of you. Keep climbing and keep moving closer to your dreams because you can be anything you want to be.

“Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you greater than any obstacle.”  Christian D. Larson
 
4 thoughts on “Don’t Let Anyone Tell You Who You Are

Leave a Reply

