Natural Hair Care

Everything But the Kitchen Sink: Natural Hair Care


We spend a fortune on hair products, and yet all it takes is some household items. Think about it… our ancestors didn’t have all these products so available to them, but yet an estimation in the billions are spent each year on hair care products alone trying to perfect our hair from weaves, braids, color, relaxers, and the list goes on. So just what exactly did our ancestors do to have such youthful and beautiful hair? They used items around the house. WHAT!! I know what you’re thinking… “There is no magic potion?”, “no secret recipe?”, and in fact, “no miracle grow?”, but yet there is only a blue print, some TLC, and discipline. So I know you’re wondering why I wrote this article, and in many ways you might find yourself being a victim of hair care fraud by companies promising to do something miraculous to your hair, and you found those results never came. So here’s my story, which might be similar to yours, which might be what lead you here today.

When I decided to go back natural it wasn’t because I couldn’t get my hair to grow, but because my hair was damaged, and I was continuing to damage it due to lack of understanding what my hair truly needed. When I decided to cut my hair, and go natural I concluded that meant just no more chemical relaxers for me since it had started thinning my hair on the ends. I didn’t realize that my hair lost was not due to stress, but due to damage done by relaxers and not properly treating my hair so I cut it, but after cutting I realized once it grew back longer it continued to thin in that area again due to me continuing to put “creamy crack”, or relaxers in my hair so I continued cutting it until I decided…

Let’s start over, and with one last cut; what some call “THE BIG CHOP” oh no, not all my hair!!! I know! I know! I can hear the comments now, but life went on after the cut, and before I knew it I was getting use to doing my hair a certain way and seemed like by the end of the month that hair style didn’t work well after the month due to it growing so rapidly, and each month that passed I learned to love my hair more and more, however, there was a process. When I first cut my hair I did what most do… Go buy out the entire hair product section in a store that promised to produce the hair results I seek. I learned that the products I had used before going natural did not work well on my newly found hair so I bought whatever was recommended, whatever sounded good, and then products, and money spent later. I picked up books and began reading, and paying attention to my hair, and shortly after I asked “what did our ancestor’s do?” they didn’t have all these products that promise so many results, and I researched on until I found “success”!

Success in the natural hair journey does not come from spending $100 and up on products or even a product line, but FIRST learning your hair. The FIRST thing you can do for yourself is NOT to point or admire someone else’s hair and say “I want my hair to look like that” because nine times out of ten it won’t. What makes your hair beautiful is… “It is unique” there might be people who have hair close to yours which is considered your hair pattern or curl pattern but it is not identical to your hair. SECONDLY, embrace your hair. THIRDLY, love your hair, and LASTLY, learn how to take care of your hair.

Taking care of your hair comes with ingredients not products. Certain ingredients are all your hair needs, and certain ingredients your hair does NOT need for natural hair. The ingredients that are needed solely depend on what type of hair you have. Oily or dry?  If dry; moisture is what you need. In this case, oils, such as olive oil, coconut oil, Shea butter, safflower oil, and other types of oils are used, which all of these items can be found at your local grocery store, however make sure to find ingredients in their purest or organic form. Other ingredients that can be used would be rosemary, fresh or in an essential oil form. When it comes to shampoo; it is best to find if you choose to co-wash or actually use a sulfate-free shampoo depending on what your hair prefers. I know this sounds funny, but it is now time to listen to your hair and not just tell it what to do, but let your hair do what is natural. You can test to see if co-washing works for you or if not. My hair personally does not do to well with co-washing because my scalp tends to have more build up and needs to be washed more often. For some people depending on their hair, might find that certain brands offer “no poo or no suds” shampoos or cleansers for your hair, which it depends on what you think works best for your hair since everyone’s hair and scalp is different. Conditioning is a major process that is required in taking care of your hair; although no hair can be repaired once damaged so save yourself some extra bucks on products promising to do such because it will never happen unless you cut the damaged hair. However, conditioning needs to happen at least once a week or as your hair needs it. If your hair is dry always look for ingredients offering moisture or hydration. Remember that old saying “less is best” when it comes to hair. The less you do to it the better and the less products you put in it the better, and the ingredients that are necessities are found around the house such as oil and water for dry hair texture. As a recommendation; every natural hair wearer needs a spray bottle, Denman brush, conditioner, and oil. Not a hair supply store in your bathroom and not spending a fortune to have great hair. Your hair just needs love, and that’s the blueprint for starting the journey to great hair, however, growth comes with the TLC you give not only to your health, but your hair as well so save yourself the fortune, and understand “money can’t buy you love”, and that’s all your hair needs.

Stay tuned for homemade hair care recipes…

 

3 thoughts on “Everything But the Kitchen Sink: Natural Hair Care

  1. Pingback: The Secret Garden: Natural Hair Care « complexbeauty

  2. Pingback: The First Cut « The Journey of a Everyday Suppa Model

  3. Pingback: Natural Hair? Simply Beautiful! | Dr. Julissa's Natural Health Matters Blog

Leave a Reply

