Holistic Power / Natural Hair Care

The Secret Garden: Natural Hair Care


Ever wonder when you see images from people back in the day how they had such lovely hair when they didn’t have half as many cosmetic or hair care companies?

Well step into the secret garden and you will find the answers.

Hair was healthy and beautiful but not because of a miracle product, but you would be surprised to know that a lot of people used a bar of soap or what others back then called “shampoo bar” was mainly used or some people would use what they call castile soap.

Castile soap is a soap made with fat of purely vegetable origin, rather than animal fats, such as Tallow; although olive oil is the traditional base oil, castile soap can be made with coconut, hemp, avocado, almond, walnut, and many other vegetable oils “(Wise Geeks, 2012).

You can find castile soap easily at places that sell organic products.

I must say that personally I tested out the Peppermint Castile Soap, and my scalp was squeaky clean with no build up, which I have yet to master with shampoos or co-washing. Now the downfall…. Yes, downfall… the castile soap is made to clean, and can cause your hair not your scalp to feel very dry, which is okay as long as you follow-up with a deep conditioning afterwards which is something you should do no matter how you cleanse your hair or scalp if you are natural.

NOW, that you know everything that was used in the past has come from some kind of plant made into oil lets talk about the actual herbs that are good for your hair.

ROSEMARY

*Stimulating follicles making hair stronger and longer

*Slows premature balding and gray hairs

*Helps with dry and dandruff scalps

TEA TREE

*Moisturizing for dry or frizzy hair

*Helps kill lice

*Helps with thinning or baldness

*Dandruff

LAVENDER

*Hair growth

*Alopecia Areata (patches of bald spots)

*Lice

PEPPERMINT

*Helps to balance PH levels

*Controls oily hair and scalp

*Controls dry scalp and itchy scalp

*Hair growth

BASIL

*Rejuvenates hair follicles

*Increase scalp circulation

*Strengthens hair shaft

*Antioxidant for scalp and follicles

*Moisturizes hair and scalp

There are many different herbs that have different benefits, and usages, and by adding these herbs to different kinds of oils, such as olive oil, coconut oil, castor oil, safflower oil, and other types of oils can help to maximize the benefits of the oil and the actual herbs. Literally, it’s as easy as taking one of these oils, which they call “carrier” oil, and adding some herbs to them. If you’re not sure about how to use the dry or fresh herbs try essential oils they work just as well.

There are many things that can help with natural hair, and if you haven’t read my other blog “Everything, But The Kitchen Sink: Natural Hair Care”, you might want to check it out because it tells you just how you don’t need to pay a lot of money to have healthy and beautiful hair and all that you need can be found around the house. Don’t believe me check out this episode of “I Love Lucy” that was created in 1954.

Please stay tuned for the run down on different oils and their benefits.

 

11 thoughts on “The Secret Garden: Natural Hair Care

  1. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

    • Taking care of natural hair is actually not a different process, and in fact easy to do as well as less expensive. When I went natural I had to learn the hard way, and I eventually started reading books and doing my own research, and in my blog was some of the things I found out.

      Thank you for taking the time to read it.

  2. Pingback: Herbal Cleanse™ Everyday Shampoo – Rosemary Mint | healingthymeproducts

  3. Hey there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  4. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would
    really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my audience would appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

Leave a Reply

