Awareness / Natural Hair Care / Natural Hair Feature

Gabby Douglas Hair


 Okay guys, I had to post a comment about this story I recently been hearing about, but my story doesn’t go along the lines of negativity, but of encouragement. I think too often we criticize, and tear each other down, but who exactly is the person making the negative comments? Social media sometimes takes things too far. They take a comment of one person, and make a big deal about it, however, I am sure if we look into the person who is making the comments they have some hidden internal issues themselves, but who is airing out their flaws or is it that they just are not even that important to talk about to begin with.

This wonderful girl just won medals in the Olympics, and the topic is her hair? Come on people we need to do better than that. Hair is hair, and we should embrace whatever we are blessed with. I see NOTHING wrong with her hair, but that she has it pulled up and out of her face. She was competing! Is she suppose to have her hair weaved down her back and in her face if she is winning medals? I just don’t get sometimes how people can focus on something as insignificant as the hairstyle she has as she is winning again another medal. I can guarantee you if I am out exercising my hair would look very similar to hers because I don’t want it out in my face so again I say “WHAT IS THE BIG DEAL?” is it not straight enough? Too ethnic? Or was it just “TOO BLACK” for people, and if that is the case I say brace yourself because the world is about to see a whole lot of more ethnic hair with natural hair making a come back.

Just yesterday I went to the grocery store, and the store manager who of course knows me every time he sees my hair out in an afro he says “what kind of hair style is that?” which he knew the answer too considering he himself is also African-American, but he was saying it as a joke, and I smiled and said “it’s the I don’t care hair”. Once again I say let your hair be carefree. The media focuses too much on appearance then they wonder why they have children younger than 16 years old wanting cosmetic surgery or thinking they are imperfect if they don’t measure up to what someone else defines as beautiful.

There was a show Jessica Simpson did on VH1 that I found to be the best show I have seen in a long time. It was called “The Price of Beauty”, Which if you click on the link you can watch the episodes too. In this show she visited different places in the world to see if she could define what is beauty, and how other people define it, but what she found is that no one person or place can define what is all around beautiful to everyone, but in fact it is a personal preference so my comment about Gabby Douglas hair is “it’s hers” if it wasn’t hers then there would be other comments they would say about her hair, which is why so many people turn to drugs to deal with the pressure of the media. What do you think happened to Micheal Jackson, Whitney Houston, and many more? imagine you were famous, and the media talked about everything you did from what you wear to run to the grocery store to the sneakers you exercised in, and how much you sweated after working out? How would you feel? The media has become a bully over people, and we talk about bullying in schools, but yet all we need to do is turn on the television and see bullying happening to everyone. We need to do better! We can’t expect children not to bully others when we are not setting a positive and better example as adults. Think about these people’s feelings, and put yourself in their shoes; would you like someone to talk about you? The saying goes “do unto others as you would want done to you”.

14 thoughts on “Gabby Douglas Hair

  1. Great goods from you, man. I have keep in mind your stuff previous to and you’re simply too fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which in which you are saying it. You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a great website.

  2. Simply want to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity on your publish is simply nice and that i can think you are an expert on this subject. Well along with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with coming near near post. Thank you a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  3. As soon as I heard about this story I posted on Facebook immediately…that I was doutraged not only from the dumb tweets … But the way in which the MEdiA hyped it.. Your posts are wonderful, and have reenergizee me to get back to writing. Thank you.

    • It is very petty, and I can’t believe that was the topic that people were deciding to talk about, and the worst part about it is that girl is only a teenager. They don’t care that they are hurting the self-esteem of our children, and they are growing up thinking they have so many imperfections, which for the life of me I can believe these people. No one is perfect, and in fact I would love to see who are these people making these comments because I am sure they are no supermodel themselves.

  4. F*ckin’ tremendous issues here. I am very glad to look your article. Thanks a lot and i’m looking ahead to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  5. I like the valuable information you supply on your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here frequently. I’m moderately certain I’ll be informed lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

